Automobile Insurance Quotes Colorado – Before you get behind the wheel.
Whether you’re heading to the ski slopes or the office, make sure you have valid Colorado auto insurance when you drive through this century-old state. Failure to show a certificate of insurance can result in a $500 or more fine, points added to your driving record, and in some cases, forfeiture of your license and community service. You must also show your certificate of insurance to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles when you register your vehicle. If you need auto insurance or want to change companies, you can get Colorado auto insurance quotes online.
Colorado auto insurance minimum requirements.
Owners of vehicles on Colorado roads are required to have at least the following minimum limits on their insurance policy
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $15,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist insurance: $25,000 per person, $50,000* per accident.
- Medical benefits: $5,000* per accident.
* Auto insurance and medical coverage can be waived by signing the option form.
There are additional optional coverages you can purchase to better protect yourself and your car, and a GEICO insurance advisor can help you choose the best Colorado auto insurance policy for your needs.
The process of getting a license for teen drivers in Colorado
Colorado teens who want to get their license on their 16th birthday must begin driver’s education before their 15th birthday. Colorado requires teens to have a learner’s permit for at least 12 months before applying for a Colorado driver’s license. Colorado law prohibits drivers under the age of 18 from using a cell phone while driving, except to communicate with the police, fire department or in an emergency situation Drivers over the age of 18 may not use to send text messages.
The procedure for obtaining a driver’s license depends on the age of the driver.
- If you start driving under the age of 15 years and 6 months, you must apply for a learner’s permit (minimum age 15) after completing a 30-hour driving course; permit holders who have accumulated 50 hours of driving time, completed a 6-hour driving course and have a permit for at least 12 months can then apply for a driver’s license.
- If you are 15 years 6 months to 16 years old, you can get a driver’s license if you complete a 30-hour driver education course or a 4-hour classroom driver education program; if you accumulate 50 hours of driving (plus 6 hours of driver education if you are under 16 years 6 months old at the time you apply for your license) and have been licensed to drive for at least 12 months. Permit holders who have been driving for at least 12 months may apply for a driver’s license.
- If you receive your driver’s license when you are 16 or 17 years old, you do not need prior driving instruction; permit holders who have completed 50 hours of driving and have held their permit for at least 12 months can apply for a driver’s license afterward. Completion of an additional six hours of driver’s license training is optional.
During the first year, driving between midnight and 5 a.m. is prohibited unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or legal guardian.
Colorado registration information.
If you have recently moved to Colorado, you must apply for a Colorado title and vehicle registration within 30 days of establishing residency in Colorado. You must apply at the Department of Motor Vehicles in the county where you reside.
The following documents are required.
- Out-of-state ownership or current out-of-state registration.
- If you live in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Douglas, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pitkin or Weld counties, you must show proof of passing the Colorado emissions test.
- A vehicle identification certificate (DR 2087) completed by a law enforcement officer, a Colorado-licensed motor vehicle dealer or a Colorado-licensed emissions testing laboratory.
- Current and accurate odometer readings.
- Proof of vehicle insurance coverage (insurance card, copy of insurance policy, letter from insurance company on letterhead).
If there is a lien on the out-of-state title, you must include the name and address of the lien holder, if not already listed on the out-of-state title or registration.